Alexa lends its voice to LG ThinQ TVs | Infrastructure | News | Rapid TV News
By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our privacy policy unless you have disabled them. You can change your cookie settings at any time but parts of our site will not function correctly without them. [Close]
LG Electronics is to roll out Amazon Alexa support for its 2019 TV models featuring artificial intelligence to users in 14 countries.

LG TV Amazon Alexa 24May2019The update will be implemented through the Alexa app on 2019 TVs featuring ThinQ AI including LG UHD TVs, NanoCell TVs and OLED TVs. Customers in North America will begin receiving the update this month, followed by customers in Europe and Asia in the weeks to come.

With the Alexa app, owners of compatible LG TVs can ask questions, control smart home products, access some 90,000 Alexa Skills and more, without the need for a separate external device. LG says its compatible TVs can understand hundreds of Alexa voice commands and handle requests of greater complexity than ever before due to more advanced LG ThinQ AI conversational voice recognition technology.

Meanwhile, LG 2019 OLED and select NanoCell TVs will receive AirPlay 2 and HomeKit support via a mid-year update. With AirPlay 2 support, owners of this year’s ThinQ AI TVs will be able to watch videos on the Apple TV app and other video apps as well as look at photos and stream music on compatible LG TVs connected to an Apple device. With Apple HomeKit, customers will be able to control the latest LG TVs with ThinQ AI by interacting with Siri or the Home app.

“The addition of Alexa support is another example of LG’s commitment to simplifying our customers’ lives,” said Brian Kwon, president of mobile communications and home entertainment companies at LG. “We will continue to enrich the user experience going forward with a diverse range of convenient AI services and features.”

Supported countries include Austria, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Spain, United Kingdom and the US.