DSport prepares to air SAFF Championship in India | Programming | News | Rapid TV News
By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our privacy policy unless you have disabled them. You can change your cookie settings at any time but parts of our site will not function correctly without them. [Close]
Discovery’s Indian sports network DSport is set to broadcast the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship, which kicks off on 4 September in Bangladesh.
DSport SAFF championships 3 Sept 2018
DSport will provide full coverage of the 12th edition of the biennial football tournament, which features seven national teams: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Reigning champions India have been pooled with rivals Maldives and Sri Lanka for the group stage of the competition.

The SAFF Championship will provide a great opportunity for India’s Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Suresh Singh Wangjam, and Rahim Ali who have been given a chance to showcase their talent after strong performances in the Under 17 World Cup.

Previously known as South Asian Association of Regional Co-operation Gold Cup in 1993 and South Asian Gold Cup 95 in 1995, the tournament was renamed the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship in 1997. India won the inaugural SAARC Gold Cup in 1993, and the team has been crowned champions seven times since then.