MTV India unveils artists for Unplugged season six | Programming | News | Rapid TV News
By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our cookie policy unless you have disabled them. You can change your cookie settings at any time but parts of our site will not function correctly without them. [Close]
MTV India is calling its latest season of Unplugged the ‘best ever’ with a line-up including Shreya Ghoshal and Amit Trivedi, Badshah, Benny-Neeti, Sachin-Jigar and Oscar-winning musical maestro A R Rahman.

MTV Unplugged Season 6 posterThe last season of MTV’s Unplugged reached over 34 million viewers across the country with episodes featuring artists such as Ustad Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, Pritam, Sukhwinder Singh. As well as linear TV, the show also had a reach of over 47 million on digital platforms and over 17 million on the radio. Completing the season’s line-up are Benny Dayal, Neeti Mohan, Jubin Nautiyal, Siddharth Mahadevan, Amit Mishra, Shahid Mallya, Divya Kumar and Jasleen Royal.

“Royal Stag Barrel Select MTV Unplugged has carved a niche for itself by celebrating the country’s myriad music genres by giving the music a chance to be the star in the show. Unplugged music is music in its rawest form – stripped of all distractions – which makes it extremely powerful and allows the artist to truly display his or her prowess as a musician,” said Ferzad Palia, head – youth and English entertainment, Viacom18.

“The line-up for this season is truly fantastic and I’m confident that the viewers of MTV will be in for a total treat when they tune into one of the greatest seasons of the show with the best of the best musicians performing unplugged.”

The show, which will be available on MTV, MTV BEATS and Viacom18’s digital platform VOOT, debuts on 14 January.