ATSC appoints Triveni CSO as broadcast standard chairman | CES 2014 | Shows 2014 | Rapid TV News
By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our privacy policy unless you have disabled them. You can change your cookie settings at any time but parts of our site will not function correctly without them. [Close]

The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) has announced the appointment of Richard Chernock as the chairman of the ATSC's Technology Group 3 (TG3), the standards development group working on the ATSC 3.0 next-generation broadcast standard. Chernock succeeds James Kutzner of PBS, who has announced his retirement effective 1 February.

Chernock is chief science officer at Triveni Digital. In that position, he is developing strategic directions for monitoring, content distribution and metadata management for emerging digital television systems and infrastructures. Previously, he was a research staff member at IBM Research, investigating digital broadcast and semiconductor technologies. His Doctor of Science degree is from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the field of nuclear materials engineering.

"Rich Chernock's technical expertise and extensive experience in ATSC activities make him the ideal choice to help direct the future of digital television," said Mark Richer, ATSC president. "At the same time, we thank Jim Kutzner for his TG3 leadership during the crucial launch phase and for his many contributions to the ATSC over the years. We wish him all the best on his future endeavours."

Chernock is active in many of the ATSC, Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers and Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers committees, particularly in the areas of mobile digital TV, monitoring, metadata and data broadcast. From 2011-2013 he was the chairman of the ATSC Technology Standards Group (TG1), leading the ATSC 2.0 standards work, and he chairs the Non-Real-Time Services activities within ATSC. He is also the distinguished lecturer chair for IEEE Broadcast Technology Society.