Indian Government updates list of obligatory channels on IPTV | IPTV | News | Rapid TV News
By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our privacy policy unless you have disabled them. You can change your cookie settings at any time but parts of our site will not function correctly without them. [Close]

India's Information and Broadcasting Ministry has issued a revised list of channels that must be carried by internet protocol television (IPTV) service providers.

The channels include 21 from public television broadcaster Doordarshan, as well as educational channel Gyan Darshan, and the Government-provided parliamentary channels Lok Sabha TV and Rajya Sabha TV.

The Doordarshan channels include National, News, Bharati, Urdu, Sports, DD India, DD Kashir, DD Punjabi, DD Girnar, DD Sahyadiri, DD Saptagiri, DD Malayalam, DD Podhigal, DD Candana, DD Bangla, DD North East, DD Bihar, DD Uttar Pradesh, DD Rajasthan, DD Madhya Pradesh and DD Oriya.

IPTV service providers must place the 24 required channels in the correct genre and displayed in full screen, according to the ministry.