Channel 9 counts down to Bangladesh Premier League cricket | News | Rapid TV News
By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our cookie policy unless you have disabled them. You can change your cookie settings at any time but parts of our site will not function correctly without them. [Close]

A new cricket entity, the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), is to take shape on 19 January, when Channel 9 television cameras televise the player auctions live from the South Asian nation.

Overseas broadcasting partners are yet to be announced, but not yet launched Channel 9 has the exclusive rights to broadcast the matches of the BPL twenty 20 (T20) tournament for its first 6 editions at the reported cost of US$24 million.

The T20 league will comprise six divisional teams, each participating on a franchise basis – the auction for which will be held on 10 January at the Westin Dhaka. The minimum bidding for a franchise is set at $1 million, according to Bangladesh newspaper, The Daily Star.

Sri Lankans Tillakaratne Dilshan and Farveez Mahroof, Pakistan's Sohail Tanvir, and the retired South African Andre Nel have recently added their names to a list of foreign cricket players available for the new tournament.

The opening ceremony for the inaugural BPL T20 is scheduled for 9 February at the Sher-e-Banagla National Stadium in Mirpur.

Add comment
  • No comments found